Your whistling isn’t flattering

Posted on July 25, 2013

0




The other day I was running around in my neighborhood. I was met with an all too familiar reality for many women. Every time I passed a specific corner, I got stares, whistles, and snickering from a group of men. It was impossible for me to focus on my exercise routine when I knew that the men were talking about me. I tell this scenario to give you a glimpse into the life of a woman.

 The reality

When we walk down the street, we want to mind our own business. We want to get where we are going free of distractions, but that isn’t the reality for many women. Instead, we are confronted with stares, wolf whistles, and calls all of which are far from flattering. If you’re a woman, you have to watch your back.

Defending ourselves

From a young age, we are taught to defend ourselves if a man confronts us. Some of us are enrolled in self-defense classes or armed with whistles in case of an attack. We walk around with pepper spray as if we are going to fight off an animal or enter combat. Men go in search for a woman to pick up like they are capturing a stray. It’s this kind of mentality that hurts our progress as a society. We can take all the classes that we want, arm ourselves with as many whistles and sprays that are available, but that won’t solve the overall problem.

Uniting together

We shouldn’t be armed with objects, but unite with men to teach them to respect women. As a woman, I shouldn’t have to fear walking down the street because of a man. I shouldn’t have to arm myself out of fear. I don’t deserve to be treated as inhumane. Women are more than just a telephone number. Women are greater than a pair of boobs and a vagina. Women are not an object to collect. Women are people to be respected, admired, and understood. Whistling, stares, and snickering are the opposite of admiration.

Written by: Andrea Bazemore